Squadron Training

During a Squadron Parade night, cadets will participate in a range of theory and practical based activities. Training is broken up into different levels, which upon successful completion of each level, cadet's will move on to the next stage. Each stage is broken up into the following areas;

  • Recruit/ Basic Stage Cadets - First year
  • Proficiency Stage Cadets - Second Year
  • Advanced Stage Cadets - Third Year
  • Qualified Stage Cadets - Fourth Year
  • Each stage has it own training syllabus covering subjects like;

  • Aviation
  • Fieldcraft
  • Survival
  • Aircraft Recognition
  • Professional Development
  • Drill and Ceremonial
  • Service Knowledge
  • Leadership
  • As cadets progress through their own Squadron based training, they are given the opportunity to attend courses throughout the school holidays like;

  • Flying Training
  • Promotion Courses
  • National Camps on other Air Force Bases
  • International Air Force Cadet Exchange Program (IACE)
  • Engineering
  • Aero-modelling
  • Fieldcraft Exercises
  • AAFC training is broken down into a number of training stages:

  • Recruit Training - Includes Service Knowledge Recruit (SKR), Fieldcraft Recruit (FCR), Teambuilding Training Recruit (TTR) and Drill and Ceremonial Recruit (DCR).
  • Basic - six compulsory subjects covering: AR, AV, DC, SK, FC and Personal Development (PD) (PDB removed from 2007 Basic syllabus, now an elective PDE).
  • Proficiency - four compulsory and three elective subjects, the compulsory are: AV, DC, SK and FC
  • Advanced - three compulsory and three elective subjects, the compulsory are: AV, DC and SK
  • Qualified - consists of a mix of 'projects' and electives
  • There is a wide range of elective subjects, such as Radio Communications, F88 Styer Firearms Training, Field Operations, Aircraft Engines, Meteorology and Drill and Ceremonial (with rifles). Proficiency and Advanced Stages also have their own Aircraft Recognition (ARP/ARA) and Survival (SVP/SVA) subjects, which are electives in those stages.

    In addition, cadets are able to attend a series of promotion courses in order to attain ranks past Leading Cadet. Each rank holds a higher level of responsibility and brings cadets more opportunities and experiences. These usually go for two to three weeks at a RAAF base, and have their own set of compulsory subjects. The promotion courses are:

  • Junior Non-Commissioned Officer (JNCO) Course, for promotion from Leading Cadet to Cadet Corporal (usually 10-14 days)
  • Senior Non-Commissioned Officer (SNCO) Course, for promotion from Cadet Corporal to Cadet Sergeant (usually 2 weeks)
  • Cadet Warrant Officer's (CWOFF) Course, for promotion from Cadet Sergeant or Cadet Flight Sergeant to Cadet Warrant Officer (usually 2 weeks)
  • Cadet Under Officer's (CUO) Course, for promotion from Cadet Sergeant, Cadet Flight Sergeant or Cadet Warrant Officer to Cadet Under Officer (usually 3 weeks)